Author Topic: Performance Issues  (Read 402 times)

Offline trboprop

• Zinc Member
Performance Issues
« on: December 03, 2003, 11:01:36 PM »
Hello all...

Well I have finally come here after getting fed up with getting killed by low framerates.  Im afraid I already know the answer to this question, but here goes anyway...Im getting extremely choppy frame rates when I fire guns, engage enemy, get close to ground, zoom in...ect..ect..

My hardware:

AMD 900 Mhz (compaq box)
640 MB Ram
Nivedia 8 MB TNT2 Craphics (built on board I think)
XP Pro

Please help...im tired of crashing into ground, hangars and bullets

Offline bockko

• Nickel Member
      • http://groups.yahoo.com/group/blackoutboys/
Performance Issues
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2003, 12:54:12 PM »
i am no amd expert (being an intel type) but your system is on the low end of the power spectrum. Your 1st issue is the video card, it is way out of league especially with that processor. If your system has an agp port you could plug in a modern card. Next, think about upgrading. You can get a smokin deal right now, I saw a $640 system at Dell the other day that had a nice p4 2.4 gig processor with decent video and ram. You would have no problem running the game. Or you could rebuild your system, but that is a bit trickier. The TNT2 pro is #1 to try though, I have one on my other pc, it just isn't fast enough.

later

Offline FOGOLD

• Silver Member
Performance Issues
« Reply #2 on: December 04, 2003, 04:45:52 PM »
Absolutely. The video card is the problem. If you can upgrade that even to a secondhand Geforce2 GTS you will notice a big difference. If your video is on the motherboard and you have no AGP slot it will be more difficult, although PCI cards are still available.

If money is real tight, a secondhand 1ghz machine with Geforce3 will play AH just fine. I've seen rigs like that in MicroMart (UK) for $150 -$200.

Offline bloom25

• Silver Member
Performance Issues