Author Topic: Pentium III or AMD Athlon?  (Read 812 times)

Offline goat10

• Zinc Member
      • http://members.home.net/goat10/index.htm
Pentium III or AMD Athlon?
« Reply #15 on: May 30, 2001, 09:03:00 PM »
OK here we go...

I have a P4 1.5 gig from Gateway.
First stay away from Gateway, after 3 months and lots of trouble. I have finally got the correct RAM for my system, not from Gateway. Funny thing is, they built the system and gave me the wrong RAM and the wrong advice for the type of RAM I needed.

I wish I had gone with the Athlon 1.2 gig, from DEL or Micron.

Just my 2 cents.  

Happy Hunting

------------------
I Hate It When That Happens!

Offline Tac

• Platinum Member
« Reply #16 on: May 30, 2001, 09:10:00 PM »
Go AMD.

Im an ex-Gateway tech.. and yes, Gateway will royally rip you off.. and then bend you over and screw you some more. You didnt get a modem with it did you? If you did, throw it out.. NOW. Its a RED OWL modem, the biggest piece of manure ever assembled.. if you think Winmodems are a curse, this model of winmodem is its avatar. You have to FORMAT to fix the loving thing.

Zippatuh: Best prices in the US ive found: www.micropro.com  

Build your own system  

Offline SKurj

• Gold Member
« Reply #17 on: May 30, 2001, 09:56:00 PM »
Build yer own, and salvage any pieces worth keepin from yer old one.
Mebbe the old stuff can eventually be used for a pc for the dependents...

Salvo

Offline Fishu

• Gold Member
« Reply #18 on: May 30, 2001, 11:29:00 PM »

Originally posted by SKurj:
Build yer own, and salvage any pieces worth keepin from yer old one.
Mebbe the old stuff can eventually be used for a pc for the dependents...

I took disk drive from older 486 to this  
oh.. and its power supply fan is converted to serve as another case fan as well.

SwampRat

« Reply #19 on: May 31, 2001, 04:06:00 AM »