Author Topic: Not impressed  (Read 508 times)

Offline fscott

• Banned
  • Copper Member
Not impressed
« on: January 03, 2001, 10:49:00 PM »
I can't understand all the hoopla over the CH Combatstick. Understand that I have been using a Suncom F15 Talon for the past 2 years without a hitch and all of a sudden one of the pots went all crazy. It's an easy thing to repair but I got all swooped up by the CH mystique and this UBS thing.

Anyway, the first thing I noticed was how easy it was to push this stick around. Compared to my Talon it felt like I was pushing a pencil around. No feedback at all hardly. Keep in mind that I kicked up my Talon's springs a few notches and it was even harder to pull around, so going to the CH stick felt like cheap junk.  I tried the O-ring suggestion and even tried several different sizes in conjunction with the springs. It felt a little stiffer but it also felt ..uhm..sticky? I hate the way that it was not smooth in all the axes. You can feel where one axis starts and another ends.

And the UBS thing. Yes the small spikes were gone, but not really too much better than my good old CH gamecard, and with the speed set just right, it almost kills all the spiking.

The Suncom is smooth all the way around. It is big and feels like it's made of steel. Heavy too. I'm looking at the two, my old Suncom and this brand new shiny CH thing and I'm trying to figure out for the life of me why the CH stick can get by at $80 where the Talon is only $25????

So the CH stick went back in the box and off to the shipper. I called around and was pleasantly surprised to find just one Suncom Talon left at a nearby store. I got it came home, and WOW! They have apparently upped the ante on the springs cause this baby has even more tension than my juiced up model, and it is so smooth. Hardly a scratch of spiking noticeable.