Author Topic: Check6 Event for 9 June 01-- Surigao Strait!  (Read 248 times)

Offline 10Bears

• Silver Member
Check6 Event for 9 June 01-- Surigao Strait!
« on: June 09, 2001, 02:25:00 PM »
Hey guys  :).. This is my first time hosting a Check6 event, so I'm hoping alot of you show up.. It starts at 3pm est but get there a lil early to make sure you have your ride. Looking at the setup below, the Americans might get their tulips kicked, So I might enable the chog for gameplay (haven't decided yet)
  Anyone who wants to command a sqdn or overall cmdr, send me a note sometime today at bear1@bigisland.com

Overview:
A desperate Gamble to Protect Japan

Admiral Soemu Toyoda, the commanding officer of Japan’s Combined Fleet, made up his mind on October 18, 1944 to send his three separate naval forces to destroy the two U.S. fleets and an immense invasion convoy heading for Leyte. The decision, he said, was “as difficult as swallowing molten iron” --and for good reason. The admiral’s battle plan, outlined on the map shown below, was designed to neutralize the air superiority of the American Third Fleet, whose 800 carrier-based planes outnumbered all of the Japanese aircraft within range of Leyte Gulf. Toyoda knew that even if the plan was successful, it would probably cost him half of his warships.
  But with the security of the home islands at stake, Toyoda’s admirals welcomed the mission. Vice Admiral Takeo Kurita, commanding the main force of battleships and cruisers, felt that the fleet had “the suicide spirit.” Vice Admiral Shoji Nishimura, whose only son had recently been killed in action, was eager to join him in patriotic death. Vice Admiral Jisaburo Ozawa volunteered to sacifice his entire force to lure the Third Fleet away for Leyte Gulf.