Author Topic: Bombers - the more things change...  (Read 1622 times)

Offline Karnak

• Radioactive Member
Bombers - the more things change...
« Reply #60 on: October 22, 2004, 05:32:28 PM »
Ok, I'm no expert, but I nearly always hit the target.

Here are my tips:

1) Do a fake calibration once you are autoclimbing to your chosen altitude.  The only goal of this is to get the target's altitude in the computer, so don't worry about marking anything with the crosshairs.  This will save a little bit of time later on when you are in enemy territory.

2) Always approach the target directly from the North, East, South or West, e.g. 0°, 90°, 180° or 270°.  This allows you to use the edge of the clipboard or make sure you're on target.  To use the edge of the clipboard zoom in on the map until you plane icon and the target icon are at opposite sides of the map.  If you plan on attacking from the East or West move the map up or down until half the target icon is hidden.  The edge of the clipboard is the line you must fly on your approach.  If you are going to attack from the North or the South use the side of the clipboard in the same manner.

3) Once you have reached your chosen altitude you should be one and a half sectors from the target.  This gives your bomber time to settle it's speed.  Use the E6B computer to monitor your speed.  Once your acceleration slows to 1mph gained every 10 or 15 seconds, open your bomb bay doors.  They cause drag and your calibration speed must take that into account.  Your bomb bay doors will remain open from this point until after you drop your bombs.

4) Once the E6B airspeed stops changing and you have verified that you are on the correct heading using the clipboard edge, go to the bombardier's position to calibrate the bombsight.