Author Topic: Stupidest thing you've done while driving  (Read 2946 times)

Offline rpm

• Plutonium Member
Stupidest thing you've done while driving
« Reply #60 on: December 01, 2004, 08:46:15 AM »
Back in the 80's when I was driving 18 wheelers cross country, I had a habit of catching cat naps in the driver's seat instead of crawling in the sleeper. If I laid down I would be out for 6-8 hours, sleeping in the seat I would only nap an hour or two and could stay on schedule.

I was an owner/ operator and had to push myself very hard to keep the wheels rolling and make near impossible deadlines dispatchers put on me. On more than one occassion I fell asleep at the wheel and this scared the **** out of me. Falling asleep while driving almost became a phobia to me.

So.....this one night I woke up and all I could see was the back of a truck trailer I was just feet away from smashing into! I jerked the wheel left and slammed on the brakes, then yanked hard right....then realised I was parked in a crowded Rest Area not moving at all. I looked around to make sure nobody was standing there laughing their arse off at me and tried to recover from my near heart attack.

From that point on if I took a nap in the seat I put a pillow on the steering wheel. If I woke up and the pillow was there everything was cool. No pillow and I was free to proceed with a coronary.
My mind is a raging torrent, flooded with rivulets of thought cascading into a waterfall of creative alternatives.
Stay thirsty my friends.

Offline lazs2

• Radioactive Member
« Reply #61 on: December 01, 2004, 09:02:04 AM »
Once long ago when I was really drunk I pulled in to get gas and a cop pulled in after me.   I could barely stand but was doing my best to look normal even tho I was a biker with a beat up sedan deville caddy.    After I gassed up I got into the car with as little stumbling as I could manage and noticed that I wasn't looking at the steering wheel but at the back of the front seat.

lazs