Author Topic: Thoughts needed...  (Read 905 times)

Offline Hristo

• Parolee
  • Silver Member
Thoughts needed...
« on: January 05, 2000, 06:27:00 AM »
Here's a question:

You fly at some 5k, moderate speed. In 109, for example. Then you see high P 51D about to bounce you. He is not too high, nor to close. Some d35 behind, a bit higher. So, you have time to do reverse into him, but ending slow and at his alt. Or you can wait and try to make him overshoot. Or you point nose down and try to outrun him   What would you do ?

When I started playing AH, after HTH duels only, I had a philosophy to always turn into the attacker. In ladder duels, when a guy is on your six, it is usually all over. However, speed differences are greater in arena, so he might be too fast and few well timed evasives would make him overshoot. Allowing plane to build up speed then could allow for E parity and now he is on defensive.

If I turn into him, I am too slow to effectively avoid HO if he goes for one. If he is smarter, he will use his higher E to park on my six and not risk HO though. If he does a chandelle, I am again in bad position below him and slow. Only acceleration can pull me out if he is too late in his maneuvering. Still, many AH pilots do the greatest mistake then. They do a kind of Split S and try to come back going high. This usually ends in some rolling scissors end I can say they blew their chances.

If I wait for them to come close and then start throwing off their aim and make them overshoot, I usually get pinged but sooner or later they do overshoot. Redouts and blackouts are good too. Again, it ends usually in scissoring where 109 wins over P 51.

Please, post your tactics...

Offline Swager

• Silver Member
Thoughts needed...
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2000, 11:45:00 AM »
Hope this helps.  I am not a 109 driver (auger too much).