Author Topic: Flying tips  (Read 457 times)

Sarnak

Flying tips
« on: March 16, 2001, 10:19:00 PM »
I have some questions concerning the flight model and characteristics in Aces High.  I have been using flight Sims for several years and have been a flying Warbirds since 1996. As I understand it AH has air turbulence, which WB has never had until the recent addition in the expert arena and they both are suppose to be modeled on actual flight data. I can tell a huge difference in the way planes perform as in they seem to fly smoother in WB.  I like a lot of the features in AH and have an account, but my flying skills with it suck compared to my performance with WB.  I will try to bank or roll the aircraft and it is slow then jerks and speeds up or pulls back slowly from a bank, but if I turn on the auto pilot under similar conditions it performs much quicker.  I have tried the same ac in WB and AH and a do not get the same responses.
Any suggestions?

Offline flakbait

• Silver Member
      • http://www.worldaccessnet.com/~delta6
Flying tips
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2001, 12:04:00 AM »
Let's try a few things here:

1) Check your stick scaleing. Setup button, Joystick. There's a BUNCH of sliders in there usually set in a typical rising stair pattern. For roll you want them all at max, yaw should be set starting at 75 and going up from there. Pitch settings are purely dependant on what and how you fly.

2) Check your Windoze calibration screen. Make sure the stick itself isn't doing anything funny.

3) If your stick came with any special software (Sidewinder for example) check that too.

4) Take an Fw-190 A5 up, wind it up to around 300mph and slowly move the stick left. Roll speed should steadily increase until it does an impression of a cork screw. If not? You got some esplaining ta do Lucy!.