Author Topic: Thank You! Roker007 and Blueduck  (Read 278 times)

Offline Alpha81

• Zinc Member
Thank You! Roker007 and Blueduck
« on: October 19, 2005, 07:46:49 PM »
Blt280 a squad member attempted to say thanks to these two in an earlier post, but I feel I would be remiss if I didn’t post a thank you.  
I’m a Chief Officer in a Fire Department in Washington State, near Seattle. I was tasked to travel to the great state of Louisiana to help mitigate the disaster that Katrina and Rita caused to those affected areas. While my role there is irrelevant, my story is tied to this.

Initially I was assigned to the Joint Field Office in Baton Rouge far removed from the carnage, I was working 12 to 14 hour days and sleeping in a tent city, the tents were large and first class, AC and all the amenities of home really.  I talked to Blueduck who lives in Baton Rouge, but our paths could not cross for a while yet due to work load and timing.  Three days later a co worker and myself were reassigned closer to the action sort-to-speak, in Lake Charles, and down in the Parishes of Calcasieu and Cameron.

Our quarters were to say the least much more primitive than the tent city in Baton Rouge. I called Roker007 who lives within 50 miles of where we were working and without a blink of an eye he invited us to his house to stay.  
  Understand now that this man and his lovely wife had never laid eyes on me or my co worker, still they opened their home to us.  We arrived and they had already made the arrangements to house us upstairs, we each had our own bedrooms and baths, air conditioning was on and fans cooled the bedding. First class people, my co worker and I owe him and her a great debt of thanks.