Author Topic: A stick for me :)  (Read 426 times)

Offline Kazaa

• Plutonium Member
      • http://www.thefewsquadron.co.uk
A stick for me :)
« on: July 17, 2005, 01:15:36 PM »
Hi all, I have been playing AH2 for 2 months now & I was thinking about getting a stick, at the moment im playing with my dell PS2 mouse :)

Can you guys please tell me the advantages of using a stick (if any) & give me some advice on a fantastic long term one please.

At the moment I like the look of the Hotas Cougar, what do you guys think of it ?

Kazaa

"If you learn from defeat, you haven't really lost."

Offline SarinGas

• Zinc Member
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2005, 02:02:42 PM »
Its all about personal prefference. Personally I find it much easier to fly with a joystick. Also look on ebay for a MS SIdewinder Precision 2 usb joystick if your going to get one, I've had mine for a lil over 5 years. Stay away from Saitek, Logicrap I mean Logitech, and CH sticks. Thrustmasters are ok too.

Offline scspook

• Copper Member
      • The Skeleton Crew BBS
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2005, 05:06:38 PM »
I have the Cougar Hotas accompanied by IJ's gimbals mod and Cubbys hall sensors. These mods mean you double the price of the original HOTAS. So if your wiling to pay $700 Aus in my case, plus $700 more to get the best HOTAS on the planet, they are a great idea.

Despite many posts that claim problems with the original Cougar HOTAS, I had mine for 2 years without any problem whatsoever. So dont believe all the bunk you read on BBS's to the negative. Most I believe are happy with their system.  You need to be aware that there is little to no aftermarket support for the Cougar now. Any help or mods you want to make generally come either from yourself or other players with that stick.

Before you shell out all that money it would pay to visit the Cougar world site and read up on the HOTAS.  Check out what mods exist and what real problems have existed for the unfortunate.

http://cougar.frugalsworld.com/