Author Topic: Sweat  (Read 1234 times)

Offline Sandman

• Plutonium Member
Sweat
« Reply #15 on: September 20, 2001, 12:29:00 PM »
Originally posted by AKDejaVu:
Happy?  Nope... not when you start dissing my bird  ;)

Wasn't my intention. There aren't many warfare areas where USN and USAF share so many capabilities. EW seemed to be as good place as any to start. Regarding F-111, you're probably more of an expert than I. My knowledge of EF-111 comes solely from comparisons to EA-6B.

And, to assume DoD does anything based on actual capability is a stretch.

We all have our fantasies.  :) I believe the first EA-6B entered service in 1971. The EXCAP models were delivered in 1973, ICAP models in 1977 and ICAP II in 1984. As I stated before, I have no knowledge of significant EF-111 upgrade programs. If there were indeed, your politics argument certainly carries more weight.

I do know that maintenance on the F-111 was not a pleasure.  The F-111A fighters had been retired some 8 years earlier because the airframes were giving out.  Sounds like they prolonged the life of the EFs as long as they could.  All F-111A and EF-111A birds were built in 66-67 timeframe.

You also have to consider that Grumman was the company that retrofitted the EF-111A and makes the EA-6.  Is it better to go with an airframe/jamming combination supported by one company or two?  Who would have had more interest in lobbying for their aircraft to stay in service?  Dunno... seems some huge assumptions as far as "capability" are made when politics are more of a factor.

AKDejaVu

Maybe you're right... maybe the Navy did win a political battle against the Air Force which in itself is funny simply because many in the Navy consider the Air Force to be much better political players.

Still... the EA-6B is almost as old as the EF-111 and the F-14 is also quite old... both types can still be found in active inventory.
sand

Offline Apache

• Silver Member
Sweat