Author Topic: Energy Management, TA Protocol  (Read 327 times)

Offline Optiker

• Zinc Member
Energy Management, TA Protocol
« on: November 13, 2006, 11:10:14 AM »
I'm trying to learn correct flap application to optimize turn (loop) in F6F. Study of Badboys EM charts would indicate a 6G turn from speeds above corner velocity would yield the highest degree/second turn, or you get around the circle (larger radius) quickly. At corner velocity (minimum turn radius, maximum degrees/second), the 6G and stall limit meet. From this point to the Ps = 0 point (best sustained turn), the speed will drop in a nose to horizon (no gain/loss in altitude) to a maximum sustained turn rate.

OK, how do I get my plane there?

Do I hit WEP and pull until just above blackout?

When (if) I can't get blackout, do I start applying flaps?

How many notches of flaps? In a sustained turner, All of them?

On another subject, in the TA it's against the rules to fire on someone w/o permission. Being a noob, I sometimes get excited while duelling and when I see what appears to be a guns solution, pull the trigger. Bad form! Is it possible to put my weapons on safe? I'd hate to lose whatever reflexive response I may have by thinking "alright, now it's OK/Not OK to shoot" and get into a situation in the MA and freeze.

Offline Major Biggles

• Gold Member
      • 71 Squadron Website
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2006, 11:20:50 AM »
if you're fighting with them in the TA, it's usually ok to shoot as well, unless they ask you not to ;)

as for turning, you don't always need to be at a certain speed, simply because it's impossible. just pull on the stick! you'll slow down, but as your turn rate decreases, your turn radius decreases, which is actually more useful in an all out turnfight.