Author Topic: New Guy looking for info  (Read 1674 times)

Offline Sprint22

• Zinc Member
New Guy looking for info
« on: December 07, 2006, 11:14:37 AM »
Hello All, or if you have been simming for a while ~S~ !

I'm a vet of several WWII flight sims including, CFS1, CFS2, IL2+AEP+PF, and I have been looking at maybe joining AHII. I am an adult so the membership cost are not a concern, except for the fact that I have never paid to play before.

Anyway, was looking for some information if possible. To give a little background, I have read the whole website and a LOT of the recent forum threads, plus the links provided by the website and did a google search or two.
I usually fly with TIR3, CH combat stick, CH throttle, CH pedals. Flew @ 100% in the CFS series and in IL2 in cockpit view with short ICONS and everything else set hard.

One important note so you know where I am coming from. I enjoyed the gameplay mode of the CFS series much more than I do the IL2 series, Though I like to fly with settings (almost) as realistically as possible, IL2 just didn't get my excitement level up as much as playing a team game on CFS2 with my buds.

Anyway questions:
1)How is the general gameplay mode? I am reading a lot about the 3 teams and that kind of stuff, but what I want to know is if the scenarios are a little faster than something like IL2, sometimes it just puts me to sleep! Do you have to fly for an hour to find and enjoy a dogfight?

2) With my general sim experience, is AHII so vastly different from what I am use to, that the learning curve is going to be tough?

3) How are the graphics in game? I run last years high end athlon64 fx, 2 gigs RAM, 7900GT card (building new Conroe for an 8800 as we speak :-) ) , Does the game look good? Can I run at 1600x1200 and if not, what would the recommended resolution be? I know the DL is free, but (lazy me talking) I don't want to DL and go through the setup and then not like it.