Author Topic: Joystick Problem  (Read 445 times)

Offline Daubie

• Copper Member
Joystick Problem
« on: May 20, 2007, 01:16:10 PM »
I'm pretty new to this online gaming thing.  Aces High is my 1st online adventure.  I've been here a couple months.  I've played plenty offline with various flight sims since the mid-1980's.

Yesterday I was playing around in the training area in F4 mode out the chase view end.  Whenever I pitched forward in "Y" I noticed I also skid a wee bit to the right, tail goes left.  I've got a Saitek AV8R-01 "twisty" joystick, USB plug.  I think I spent $50.  I didn't want to spend more money on a joystick as I wasn't sure if I was sticking around here very long.  Well, I'm hooked.  

My observation with the sliding effect is, cheap joystick and rudder control is bleeding into pitch control.  I dropped my firewall as I thought that might be the issue, but still the problem.

(Previous joystick was Logitech Attack3, but I had no HAT button and no rudder control.)

I setup to calibrate 1st in Control Panel, I have XP Home, then calibrate in the clipboard in mapping or whatever it is called.  I setup the advanced mode in the defalut scaling for Y, X, and Z twisty.  The motion is better, not great.  I probably need a better stick and separate rudder pedals.  I've read the training sites (both) literature online about joystick setup, but the scaling process is all new to me.

I just wanted opinions from guys with more experience at it than my own experiments.

Also, notice, in internal cockpit view out the front, I jump around a little bit after a stick move.  What needs to be adjusted?

This experiment I was using the Spit VIII as an example.  A real hassle aiming guns.

Thanks for any help,

Daubie

Offline Blooz

• Gold Member
Joystick Problem
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2007, 01:21:31 PM »
On the clipboard where you entered advanced mode and scaled the axis you'll see two sliders.

One says Damping and the other is Dead Band.