Author Topic: WIP Russian KV1  (Read 1424 times)

Offline crockett

• Gold Member
Re: WIP Russian KV1
« Reply #15 on: June 22, 2008, 03:58:32 PM »
For something REALLY cheap, that I started playing with (I dont know the comparative quality) use Google SketchUp. You can also download things people have already made and tinker with them from there.

Yea, I totally forgot about sketchup. I installed ity and had some fun playing with it, just before I decided to get back into 3d modeling.
"strafing"

Offline Serenity

• Platinum Member
« Reply #16 on: June 22, 2008, 04:13:54 PM »
Yea, I totally forgot about sketchup. I installed ity and had some fun playing with it, just before I decided to get back into 3d modeling.

How does it compare with what you're using? It drives me batty trying to connect the lines to form a plane. Its as if it always tries to move one pixel away along some axis...

Offline crockett

• Gold Member
« Reply #17 on: June 22, 2008, 04:51:14 PM »
I didn't use sketchup much.. I was looking for something to play around with on my iMac and saw it had a Apple version so I D/Led it and played with it some. Didn't get into it much was just enough to get the bug going again.  :D

Sketchup seems like it would make a nice app for doing architecture type stuff for web work or just for presentation work, because it seems fast and easy to use.

With modo, which is what I'm using, it's 3D modeling tools are the best I've used (ie Maya, 3DSmax & XSI). It's so much easier and faster to use than the other 3D programs because they have really thought it out from a users POV. However it does have a few quirks here and there, like sometimes it will make double sided polygons and you have to go in and delete the back faces.