Author Topic: The Real Reason the P-51 is so Popular  (Read 2324 times)

Offline Dominare

• Zinc Member
Re: The Real Reason the P-51 is so Popular
« Reply #45 on: April 20, 2008, 10:14:43 AM »
I'm new to the game, however I have been flying a P-51B at around 17-18k and I BnZ the guys that are lower, usually have to turn tail after dropping one and regain altitude... but the performance increase in a P-51 from 8K to 18K is awesome, you get a great cruise speed and even though other people don't fly that high in my little experience it can make for some good BnZ... Just have to watch your speed and angle of descent or it'll get away from you and you'll mash the ground at good speed  :frown:
P-38J 338th FS / 55th FG (Battle Over Germany)
P-38J 432nd FS / 475th FG (Phillipine Phandango)
190D-9 II/JG27 (The Final Battle)
YAK-9U 318 IAP (Red Storm - Krupp Steel)

Offline moot

• Plutonium Member
      • http://www.dasmuppets.com
« Reply #46 on: April 20, 2008, 10:25:37 AM »
Welcome to the game Dominare.
Hello ant
running very fast
I squish you

Offline BnZ

• Persona Non Grata
  • Silver Member
« Reply #47 on: April 20, 2008, 12:18:58 PM »
Yes, IMO the biggest advantage the P-51 has in this game is that its cruise speed sans WEP is so fast and that it has the range to cruise till the cows come home...above 10K, its cruising around as fast or faster than a D9 burning its WEP! If you meet something co alt or slightly below with a head of steam built up in  a P-51, chances are you have enough of an E advantage to work with.

The downside of all is, I swear, it seems like you have to run level two sectors to get the thing up to its max speed.

Offline Lusche

• Radioactive Member
      • Last.FM Profile
« Reply #48 on: April 20, 2008, 12:23:21 PM »
.above 10K, its cruising around as fast or faster than a D9 burning its WEP!

Actually the point were P51D without wep is faster than a 190D-9 with wep is about 22K and up.
Steam: DrKalv
E:D Snailman

Offline Tr1gg22