Author Topic: p-51d and p38L acceleration is identical up to 250 mph then p51 superior by far.  (Read 2230 times)

Offline juzz

• Copper Member
      • http://nope.haha.com

Where are the dive flaps? At high speed it rolls too well and it at very high speed should still tuck its nose even with flaps.

1. I believe HTC has stated that because compression is not modelled, there is no point to modelling the dive flaps.

2. The P-38L should roll well at high speeds, it had hydraulically boosted ailerons.

Offline DoctorYO

• Nickel Member
I agree with Verm... I last camp was practicing alot in the p38L...  Above 15k or so the plane is near untouchable with so many options on how to fly it... Combine that with 1 burst 1 kill ability when you e fight it you have a real powerhouse...

lets not even mention payload ability:

(grab a stang with 2 1000lbs and 6 rockets and climbout; then grab a p38 with 2 1000lbs and 10 rockets and see who gets to 10k quicker.)

personally im no expert in ww2(i wasn't there) but from what i have read and what happens in the MA of HTC In my opinion the p38 is fairly accurately modeled.

Fly it like a FW 190 and you will see what i mean...  Just so many options (turn fight, e fight and b&z wrapped into one plane, jabo too.

I used to like the Mustang but there is just so much more versitility in the p38....

Caught low and slow the mustang is meat... in the p38 at least you have a fighting chance against almost any aircraft.(kind of like the G10)

In sum the p38 is easy to fly but hard to master..(flapping)(throttle control)(low top speed in dives etc..) But when you do master it your are the master of your domain.

2cents,

DoctorYO

Offline fdiron

• Parolee
  • Nickel Member