Author Topic: Saitek X52 and the SST programming software  (Read 7241 times)

Offline Agent360

• Nickel Member
      • http://troywardphotography.com
Saitek X52 and the SST programming software
« on: June 26, 2009, 07:05:09 PM »
I have used the X52 since I started playing and used the saitek SST programming software with no problems with one exception. That problem came when I bought a replacement stick and tried to use the new SST software version 6.0.

First SST v6.0 uses a different format for the profile file. So all my old profiles would not work. The only way was to manually make new profiles and that is just a pain and takes a lot of time.

Second sst v6.0 is much different. It does not have a 3D view. It uses a tabular format for the programming and it is very difficult to figure out what keys do what.

Third, Saitek changed the way the pinkie switch works. They now call it a "clutch" key. This means when you hold it down it allows all the other keys to have a different function. There is no way to put it back to the old way if you use version 6.0. I use the pinkie switch as WEP and didn’t want to change the way I had it set up.

Fourth, the new software is buggy. It kept crashing and just wouldn’t work with my system (windows xp, mid range AMD processor and cheap video card)

The Solution:
All versions of the SST software will work with any Saitek stick. In fact they only make one version of the software for all the controllers they make. This means if you have the X52 PRO you can still use the older versions of the SST software.

I am using SST version 2.0 ( the one with the 3D view and no dumb clutch setting)

This is the link to the saitek sites download page for windows 32 bit:
http://www.saitek.com/uk/down/drivers2.asp
On this page is a link that sais:
XP 32 Software for X52
Saitek_SST_Software_32.exe

I believe this is the older version. Either v1.0 or 2.0 ( the new versions starts at 3.0 and up)