Author Topic: Pedals  (Read 1822 times)

Offline Traveler

• Gold Member
      • 113th Lucky Strikes
Re: Pedals
« Reply #30 on: July 24, 2009, 11:57:07 AM »
Just feels more natural to me to have the nose follow my feet's push rather than go against them; I'm weird I guess.   Thanks.

Moot, your thinking is not that unusual.  Many toys as Atool has presented teach that method of control.  A child’s sled comes to mind.  As a fight instructor teaching new students to taxi an aircraft with both conventional and non-conventional gear, many at first would attempt to push with their right foot to trun the nose of the aircraft left while taxing.

As a flight instructor I also feel it necessary to correct the many miss statements in terminology about “turning with rudder”.   You don’t use the rudder to “Turn” you use “Lift” to turn an aircraft.  You do so by Rolling the aircraft in the direction you wish to turn.  The fact is that in coordinated flight the rudder is only used to offset Adverse Aileron Yaw.  That said, it is ture that you can affect the heading of an aircraft by just holding rudder but to make a 90 degree turn to the right with just rudder holding wings level would take a very long time.
Traveler
Executive Officer
113th LUcky Strikes
http://www.hitechcreations.com/wiki/index.php/113th_Lucky_Strikes

Offline moot

• Plutonium Member
      • http://www.dasmuppets.com
« Reply #31 on: July 24, 2009, 07:47:49 PM »
Thanks Traveler.
Hello ant
running very fast
I squish you

Offline Bruv119

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Plutonium Member
      • http://www.thefewsquadron.co.uk
« Reply #32 on: July 27, 2009, 12:40:51 AM »

That's not very nice Bruv, you must not of understood the reasoning behind why someone might invert the peds.

tool if you put smiley faces at the end of harsh one liners it means your joking and no offence is meant.  I've met yarbles in person and we get along great.
The Few ***
F.P.H

Offline grizz441

• Platinum Member