Author Topic: question for welders  (Read 496 times)

Offline Anodizer

• Silver Member
Re: question for welders
« Reply #15 on: July 23, 2009, 09:29:27 PM »
Not sure why a bottle of argon would cost you $300. If you have the regulator and hose you can buy a small cylinder for under $100 then what ever it costs to fill it. Even if you need the hose and regulator you can get that for under $100 as well.

link to welding supplies:
http://store.cyberweld.com/migaccessories1.html
I only used this link as an example. I have never personally bought anything from them.

I was gonna say the same thing..  If you can stay away from inner-shield, by all means, do so..  Your weld will be much better as well as look much nicer..  Like the other dude said, you'll have to deal with slag..  Not sure about you, but I hate slag..  Always gets inside my gauntlets some how when I chip it off and I get all burnt up..  
I used to sell welders and gas..  While I'm not an expert on technique by any means(I can run a pretty nice bead), I know what's available as far as consumables (wire, gas, regulators,hoses, tips, what gas to use with what kinds of metal, etc)..  When I worked for AGA(which was bought out by BOC or Linde I think) we used to carry 2 cf (cubic foot) cylinders of Argon, CO2,   50% Argon/CO2 Mix, and we used to do customer mixes as well..  Back then (this is 8 or 9 years ago) you could buy a 2cf tank for about $30.00 and filling it would be $5.00 a pop(usually they just switch out the tank and give you a full one).  Getting a gas set up isn't that expensive..  Like someone else said, not sure where you got the $300.00 figure..  We used to sell 300cf tanks for $80.00..  If you're gonna do it, might as well do it right...