Author Topic: Wiping a hard drive  (Read 1597 times)

Offline Bizman

• Plutonium Member
Re: Wiping a hard drive
« Reply #30 on: December 28, 2009, 12:49:59 PM »
I have been using Darik's Boot'n'Nuke for several years now when needing extra effective wiping. It has several different methods to choose from, starting from a simple zero fill to a seven-times-random-1-0 twisters.

3.5" disks are made of solid metal, they don't shatter. Drillholes, sledgehammer or even just poking some holes through the adhesive stickers scratching and deforming the platters will make them unreadable for the most. Not to mention shooting a rifle bullet through it!

One good and environmental friendly way is to dismantle it: You get a nice shiny disk to use as a candle mantle or coaster, plus a pair of the best refridgerator magnets on earth! Or if you leave the platter but strip almost everything else, after attaching a piece of adhesive sanding paper (not too coarse, 400 or finer) on the disk, you get a nice 12 volt grinder to sharpen your flathead screwdrivers and wifeys scissors.
Quote from: BaldEagl, applies to myself, too
I've got an older system by today's standards that still runs the game well by my standards.

Kotisivuni

Offline MrRiplEy[H]

• Persona Non Grata
  • Plutonium Member
« Reply #31 on: December 28, 2009, 12:54:42 PM »
a pair of the best refridgerator magnets on earth!

Define best - that thing left huge scratches to my clear satin steel finish refrigerator door. The door is stainless steel so normal refrigerator magnets barely stick at all but this thing stuck good. And of course my son had to slide it across the surface to remove it  :cry Beware - the magnets are literally powerful!
Definiteness of purpose is the starting point of all achievement. –W. Clement Stone

Offline Bizman

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #32 on: December 28, 2009, 02:10:07 PM »