Author Topic: Brewster vs. P-38 Zoom test  (Read 8077 times)

Offline BnZs

• Platinum Member
Re: Brewster vs. P-38 Zoom test
« Reply #45 on: July 16, 2010, 02:41:30 PM »
Yes, I understand the Brewster is a tiny plane with a relatively small drag footprint compared to many bigger monsters, but isn't the critical factor the amount of power vrs. weight AND drag?

Gents... I am the PERK THE BREWSTER! guy.  That said, a component you are all missing is the cd.  Look it up, you may be amazed, I know I was.  Drag and gravity are what slows a plane down in the vert.  The Brewster is ridiculously slippery.  How they got the airframe that slick, I don't know.  I am a combat engineer, not an aero guy.   

The Brewster does so well because people get into its fight, not staying in the fight of the ride they are in.  This is a tough one to fathom, Wmaker got me to swallow my pride on that several times since the plane was introduced.  Has to do with folks just not taking the time to look at the numbers.  HP has nothing to do with this discussion.  Hell you want to prove that one, do the test with the climb master, a K4.  It has a 1000 hp advantage to the Brewster.  Yet, CO E, the Brewster has a much lower cd and therefore offsets part of the HP difference.  Yes it will not out zoom the K4, but it will remain in gun range until the K4 stalls.  So.....

1.  Stay above a Brewster.
2.  Don't give up E to turn into one, he will reverse and you will die.
3.  Work on your aim and shoot them piecemeal.......
4.  PERK Wmaker. 

"Crikey, sir. I'm looking forward to today. Up diddly up, down diddly down, whoops, poop, twiddly dee - decent scrap with the fiendish Red Baron - bit of a jolly old crash landing behind enemy lines - capture, torture, escape, and then back home in time for tea and medals."

Offline Stoney

• Gold Member
« Reply #46 on: July 16, 2010, 02:52:20 PM »
The Brewster is ridiculously slippery...HP has nothing to do with this discussion...