Author Topic: Grilling!  (Read 1128 times)

Offline Penguin

• Persona Non Grata
  • Gold Member
Grilling!
« on: June 29, 2011, 06:00:00 PM »
Tongue-in-cheek grilling humor:

It's time to welcome in the summer by firing up the grill (or is it grille?).  Counterintuitively, we choose to grill during hottest time of the year.  However, I'm not experienced in the art of heating processed animal remains to the point at which they are both palletable and do not pose a health risk.  To compound these difficulties, my grill is utterly filthy, the grill degreaser is only making it angry, and my mom is having me use real wood for the first time ever.

Now to be serious:

I have not cleaned this grill in since last summer, and I left any residue on it from the last grilling.  The grill degreaser has helped somewhat, but there are parts of the grill that no amount of scrubbing has helped.  In addition, my mom claims that the automatically igniting charcoal gives off toxic fumes, and has therefore purchased hardwood charcoal and a bizzare mechanism for igniting it using printer paper.

Can any of you old dogs give a greenhorn some help in cleaning the grill and grilling with real wood?

More grilling humor:
No, I don't plan on burning the house down
Yes, I have my flamesuit on
No, I will not be playing with matches

-Penguin

Offline GNucks

• Silver Member
      • VF-17 "Jolly Rogers"
Re: Grilling!
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2011, 06:14:31 PM »
Here's How:
Remove cooking grates and set them in warm soapy water to soak.
Fill a small bucket or pan with warm soapy water.
If it's a charcoal grill then remove the coal grate and brush out the insides.
If it's a gas grill, remove briquettes, lava rocks or metal flame shield to expose burner.
Clean out ash and residue from around burner, careful to make sure the burner is in place when you are done.
Use a stiff wire brush and a little soapy water to gently scrub the inside surfaces of the grill.