Author Topic: Saitek X-65F vs X-52 Pro  (Read 5643 times)

Offline Tigger29

• Gold Member
Re: Saitek X-65F vs X-52 Pro
« Reply #15 on: January 16, 2012, 02:37:44 PM »
I have an X52 (non-pro) sitting in the closet which still works great after using it many hours a week for well over four years.  Its only flaw is a tiny, tiny bit of mechanical play.  That stick never gave me any trouble so I keep it as a backup.

I upgraded to a G940 about 17 months ago which I love but had to severely mod to get it to work correctly.  Unless you like to tinker and find an awesome deal on one I WOULD NOT recommend it.

Offline streakeagle

• Silver Member
      • Streak Eagle - Stephen's Website
« Reply #16 on: January 18, 2012, 08:55:18 PM »
All of my Saitek sticks still work 100%: X-36 USB, X-45, X-52 Pro. I have a Thrustmaster Warthog now as well. I like the X-52 Pro stick the best. I love the Warthog throttle, but the stick is stiff and has center detents that make find movements around center extremely difficult. I am getting used to the Warthog and love the Target programming software. The X-36 isn't supported in Windows 7 (it works but no driver for the programming software). The X-45 has been cut up to work with my real F-4 Phantom stick. I use that for flying F-4 Phantoms and other jets in Strike Fighters 2 series games., but use the Warthog throttle. The X-52 Pro is now my son's stick since I but up the X-45. The X-52 Pro throttle has great ergonomics and the thumbwheels are great fro trim control, but the Warthog throttle is a dual throttle and has an awesome selection of switches. If all of my sticks suddenly failed right now, I would get an X-52 Pro or maybe try a CH stick. I don't care for the CH pedals or throttle. Even with the great deal I got on the Warthog ($350 vice the usual $500+ retail), for me it is at best equal to the X-52 Pro unless you really like the feel of cold steel.