Author Topic: 8th Air Force vs Luftwaffe Mission Planesets, Arenas, Countries  (Read 831 times)

Offline AKKuya

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Gold Member
Many players have posted across the multiple threads covering the individual Mission announcement threads concerning the planesets, arenas and countries.  They have all stated their opinions freely and some with historical background.

I commend them all. :cheers:

To the truth of the matter, of course by being the coordinator of these events I've had to manage the events as best as I could.  I'm a bomber pilot and a part-time AH player to 10 hours a week at most.

I used the best available planes in both planesets to bring in the most amount of players.  To me, what real difference is there between the various fighter aircraft models when the vast majority of players fly them in the most unrealistic manners because sitting in your chair keeps you from experiencing the 5+ G's during the outlandish maneuvers being performed in a virtual enviroment.  The historical aspects are important with the fighter aircraft models being used however, the same reason also in the previous sentence.

This started in the Late War arena with announcments in the forums to coordinate a high altitude bombing mission deep behind enemy lines between the 8th AF and the LW.  8th AF launching from one country and the LW defending on another country.  This was a great blast only hindered by the LW arena server map and players refusing to switch country to either side.  Throw in the night that the map was endanger of being reset during a mission.  Plus, the recent time when the server was constantly resetting and the mission that week was in danger of being destroyed mid flight.