Author Topic: Warthog HOTAS  (Read 1612 times)

Offline 33jtr

• Zinc Member
Re: Warthog HOTAS
« Reply #15 on: October 31, 2012, 04:57:08 PM »
I donīt get what all the hoopla is about.
I have no experience with CH stuff, but I bought a warthog and I was very disappointed to say the least. Sure, the hall effect and yada yada yada... But the thing has so much sticktion that I consider it unusable. I got it, unpacked it, plugged it in, tried off line and wondered what the hell was wrong with it. I have taken it apart about 20 times to try to get the thing to work properly. Thrustmaster (gracefully) even sent me a complete new "gimbal" set to try on for size. Made no difference. I have taken out the inner most ball in the joint (it is there to prevent Z-axis twisting of the grip) which adds massive amounts of friction to the stick. Still unacceptable. I have tried the slippriest lubricant known to man. No joy. Tried polishing the surfaces, and it got better but not good enough. It is a poor design. No way around it. Nice and flashy on the outside, all the internals are cheap and inadequate for a stick that set me back 450 bucks. Mine has been just a heap junk on my desk for the last couple of months. I do not even play anymore because of this. Havnīt bothered to dig out the X-65 (havnīt got much praise for that stick either).

My question would have to be, how hard can it be to build a decent gimbal mechanism? I could build one out ot cardboard that had a better feel to it than this thing (but donīt get any ideas, Thrustmaster), give me some particle board, a couple of ball bearings and... well you get my drift.