Author Topic: Crash this weekend at my airport.  (Read 5135 times)

Offline CAP1

• Radioactive Member
      • The Axis Vs Allies Arena
Re: Crash this weekend at my airport.
« Reply #90 on: November 15, 2012, 06:44:18 PM »
Ah yeah, you've mentioned the upgraded powerplant the previous owners installed a couple times, good deal (how fast can it climb with full flaps?).  

Again, I have no 172 experience, but how much runway does it need to stop at 80knts?  The reason I even brought this up is coincidently just as you mentioned, I see 172s at least once a day with full flaps ~60knts (maybe less sometimes) and then having to really gun it to cushion it on the flare.  Maybe they're practicing techniques, but I'm not counting those more obviously practicing power-offs and such.

Buster jogged my memory a bit, someone before once told me a couple years ago full flaps on a 172 isn't really much defelction (due to I recall surface area and the 40deg limit) at full.  Funny coincidence again, that same person hasn't flown a 172 in a while as he also enjoys his BC a metric-ton more these days too (particulary the days that it doesn't need any fixing or work).

it's been about 4 years since i've been in the air.......