Author Topic: PC build suggestions  (Read 1454 times)

Offline MADe

• Silver Member
Re: PC build suggestions
« Reply #30 on: May 10, 2013, 11:18:48 AM »
You are not familiar with switching power supplies.  If it was a linear power supply, then it would not make any difference.  The nature of a switching power supply requires a load for them to output power and a high load to output clean power.
Too small of a switcher is a bad idea.  Too big of a switcher is not as bad as too small, but it will lead to long term stability problems with any of the current high end systems today.
I am an electrical engineer.  I do have a very good handle on how these work.

So are you saying that the basic computer PSU are all switching type? or are they linear?

and what span of time are you talking about that can cause issues. 1 year or 10 or 20. Obviously 1 year is problematical but from 10 and on, what would it really matter, most will have upgraded to a new system after that time. They would have almost had to considering how quickly OS changes would have happened as well as the hardware that would have become available. My oldest working machine is a little over 10 years old. It will only run XP at this point. It was too advanced to run 95 thru XP when I built it.
This is why I think its really a moot point. As I said, all the psu's I use are under used. None have ever failed, or killed a mobo, but then each one has a power conditioner of its own. I would think the USA power grid kills quite a few.
Chit they're all made in China, like most puter parts. They are all the same inside I would think. DC converters.
ASROCK X99 Taichi, INTEL i7 6850@4.5GHz, GIGABYTE GTX 1070G1, Kingston HyperX 3000MHz DDR4, OCZ 256GB RD400, Seasonic 750W PSU, SONY BRAVIA 48W600B, Windows 10 Pro /64

Offline Skuzzy

• Support Member
  • Administrator
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
« Reply #31 on: May 10, 2013, 05:35:52 PM »