Author Topic: Depression?  (Read 938 times)

Offline gyrene81

• Plutonium Member
Re: Depression?
« Reply #15 on: June 01, 2013, 12:17:14 PM »
lol, Golfer thanks for the pics...the second one is a real mood enhancer.  :devil   :angel: 
jarhed  
Build a man a fire and he'll be warm for a day...
Set a man on fire and he'll be warm for the rest of his life. - Terry Pratchett

Offline mthrockmor

• Gold Member
« Reply #16 on: June 01, 2013, 12:20:53 PM »
I'm not a doctor but something I've observed....

check your diet. My brother is Mormon, same depression as you, at one point wanted to end it all. He then discovered coffee and it has changed his life. Keep a journal of how you feel and what you've eaten. Over time you'll notice some foods help, others hurt. This is not the final answer but your diet definitely impacts your moods.

my two cents. And when in doubt look up JG5, you can fly German Iron with us.

Boo
No poor dumb bastard wins a war by dying for his country, he wins by making the other poor, dumb, bastard die for his.
George "Blood n Guts" Patton

Offline pembquist

• Silver Member
« Reply #17 on: June 01, 2013, 01:16:26 PM »
Drugs work and are not necessarily permanent. I had a bad patch a few years ago. I didn't like the idea of taking drugs but at some point I realized that I wasn't getting over it and that I had nothing to lose.  Exercise etc. was not doing it. The drugs I took we're SSRI's, (all this is googleable,) started on Prozac than Zoloft then Paxil. Took Paxil for a year and a half than tapered off. There were some side effects, (a slight increase in my natural susceptibility to motion sickness, some sleepiness, a certain thing related to time and sex which most men would see as positive,) but the primary effects were immensely helpful. I was able to get things done. I stopped ruminating, (look it up if you don't know what that is,) and generally I was able to be much more outgoing and confident.