Author Topic: What would an OS change entail  (Read 910 times)

Offline Serenity

• Platinum Member
What would an OS change entail
« on: December 19, 2014, 02:18:32 PM »
I'm throwing in the towel. I can either keep windows 8 and have a $200 paperweight for a joystick, or I can downgrade to Win 7. But the big question is, I'm not very technical, so what would I have to do for that download? Would I have to figure out what all of the different hardware I have is and redownload Win7 drivers for it all?

Offline Skuzzy

• Support Member
  • Administrator
      • HiTech Creations Home Page
Re: What would an OS change entail
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2014, 02:37:43 PM »
You are looking at a complete OS installation, from scratch.  You will need the OS, and all the drivers for the hardware of your computer (motherboard, sound, network (might come with the OS), video card...).
Roy "Skuzzy" Neese
support@hitechcreations.com

Offline Bizman

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2014, 03:10:44 PM »
If you have Win8 Pro you should be allowed to [b=http://www.microsoft.com/oem/en/licensing/sblicensing/pages/downgrade_rights.aspx]downgrade[/b] it to the previous version. Most likely you have the basic edition, though.

Getting a Windows 7 license is getting hard since Microsoft don't sell it anymore. You may find it at some store with a little bit of luck. Another way is to find someone who has bought a three computers license for Windows7 upgrade, only using it for one or two. I suppose reusing the code and sticker from an abandoned Windows7 computer would be against the M$ EULA, although the idea of using one oem license on one machine would be fulfilled in that case, too. Anyway, a legal and functional license code for Win7 is what you need. Don't use a pirated or hacked one, they tend to get unsupported. Get a real one.