Author Topic: 32bit RGBA Channels  (Read 461 times)

Offline bustr

• Plutonium Member
32bit RGBA Channels
« on: March 30, 2015, 12:20:49 PM »
Hi,

I've never used Photoshop before and had an interesting weekend of trial and error. I'm trying to understand the green, blue and alpha1 channels control over the RGB channel with 32bit RGB BMP.

1. - The Alpha1 channel controls the alpha level like the alpha slider in the gunsight selection app in the hanger. The gray scale image in the alpha 1 channel controls this in a gradient from black to white on a black background. What happens if I widen that image wider than the RGB channel's drawing? Will the RGB background color begin to be revealed with the drawing because I'm not masking that out with black from the alpha 1 channel?  For now I'm testing a Gaussian blurred 12 pixel wide yellow ring 200 pixels in diameter.

2. - How do the gray scale channel gradient images in the green and blue channels effect the RGB channel? And what happens if I make those larger than the defined edges of the RGB drawing? And if I don't widen the alpha 1 channel gray scale drawing equal to the G, B channel gray scale drawings.

3. - In Photoshop is there a tool which will cause the red, green, blue, and apha 1 images to auto align on a common point with the image in the RGB channel before saving the work? It seems Photoshop does not always accurately render the positions of the gray scale images to the same point in the G,B, and alpha 1 channels. Nor does it auto align back to the same position if I copy the image from the RGB channel and paste it to the Blue or Alpha 1 channel. I discovered this by accident using the magic picker tool on the RGB channel image, then flipping through the other images seeing that the selection lines showed the G, B, and Alpha 1 images were off usually down to the right.