Author Topic: Competitive  (Read 5905 times)

Offline SPKmes

• Gold Member
Re: Competitive
« Reply #30 on: July 23, 2017, 03:09:01 PM »
Yes...when I die it is my fault.... I didn't need to take the plane I used, I didn't need to jump into that gaggle of red, I didn't see that 5th con come in from the stratosphere.... Many of my deaths are due to bad gunnery.... I have learned (after many many sorties) to evade and fly defensively but offensively I really lack skills....

As most have said here...get with a trainer...or there is the squad option...there are many here that will teach you...

I would probably put trainers first as they will teach you how, when and why and allow you to adjust things for your fit...a squad have their particular ways...
Much like driving lessons...your dad can and will teach you...but he will unwittingly also teach you bad habits...where as a driving instructor will teach you correctly without the years of self taught bad habits.... That part is for you to learn

Once you find your style then you can find the squad that fits.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2017, 03:11:26 PM by SPKmes »

Offline morfiend

• AH Training Corps
  • Plutonium Member
« Reply #31 on: July 23, 2017, 04:12:45 PM »
Below are just my thoughts, so don't be surprised if people disagre with me, wyatt.

My advice for people starting out:

Gunnery
  • Fly aircraft with similar armament.
  • Fly offline for 5 mins prior to going online and shoot the drones from various angles.
  • Open fire when an aircraft's icon is 400 yds or less.
  • If you're not hitting on deflection shots a simple trick is to apply twice as much lead as you think you need.
  • Try not to pull back hard on the stick when firing for shots which require high amount of deflection or snap shots- pull the required deflection or greater- relax the stick- fire and let the aircraft pass through your gun sight.

ACM
  • There is a lot of literature avialable online- read it