Author Topic: Lt. Frank Bouldin, Jr. - P-51D "Dallas Doll" (SX*I) - 353rd FG, 352nd FS - AH3  (Read 1699 times)

Offline LanLow613

• Zinc Member
Hello, I am new to the Aces High Bulletin Board. I have a question that I am hoping someone can answer. Does anyone know the correct paint color of the wording 'Dallas Doll' on Lt Frank H. Bouldin's P-51D? In all the photographs, models, paintings and other artwork, the wording is painted black. There are some that believe that the wording was painted red with black outline.

Any help with this question would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you all very much!

Best Regards,
Lance

Offline Vraciu

• Plutonium Member
I do not have an answer on this one but perhaps some of my colleagues can weigh in.   Lyric1 may have something in his massive archive that will tell us.
”KILLER V”
Charter Member of the P-51 Mustang Skin Mafia
King of the Hill Champ, Tour 219
The Damned
King of the Hill Win Percentage - 100 (1 Win, 0 Losses)

Offline lyric1

• Skinner Team
  • Plutonium Member
Hello, I am new to the Aces High Bulletin Board. I have a question that I am hoping someone can answer. Does anyone know the correct paint color of the wording 'Dallas Doll' on Lt Frank H. Bouldin's P-51D? In all the photographs, models, paintings and other artwork, the wording is painted black. There are some that believe that the wording was painted red with black outline.

Any help with this question would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you all very much!

Best Regards,
Lance

Hi Lance.

I don't have a definitive answer to your question however I do have a book with a few more photos of this aircraft that maybe be the answer to the different nose art colours.

https://fighting-high-books.myshopify.com/products/slybirds

First off the most common photo known.

Not that this colurised image is proof this particular guy does some excellent interpretations of the black and whites.

So here is some other black and whites from the book.