Author Topic: Tank vs tank fighting - what is the secret ingredient?  (Read 564 times)

Offline Litjan

• Zinc Member
Tank vs tank fighting - what is the secret ingredient?
« on: September 23, 2018, 01:23:14 PM »
Hi guys, I need your help.

When I am on the road, all I can play is GVs because I run AH on my laptop with no controllers. So I have been exploring (playing AH on and off for 15 years) the GV side of the game some more. I am doing ok with running supplies, troops and shooting from AAA vehicles. What eludes me is the tank vs tank game.

Here is my problem: The enemy will ALWAYS see me first. He can find me, spot me first, shoot first and hit first. It doesn´t matter if I sit in a bush, shut down my engine, use max zoom, lower the graphic detail, let them move, try to flank them, whatever.

The result is always the same. I drive around, shut down to listen (what an idiotic gameplay mechanism, but hey...) while hidden in a bush or clump of trees aim in the direction the enemy tank is coming from, see nothing, blam, dead.

Is this normal? Is there a trick? Some sort of setting? Help!

Thanks, Litjan

Offline 715

• Silver Member
Re: Tank vs tank fighting - what is the secret ingredient?
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2018, 01:52:25 PM »
Trying to hide in trees is often a bad idea.  You might think you can't be seen because you can't see out. In fact the other guy can easily see your tank's hull or tracks below the lowest branches while your commanders head is in the foliage.  It's better to stop at the edge of a stand of trees with an open space ahead of you. That way you can see oncoming tanks as soon as they clear the trees on the opposite side of the clearing.

Also learn the technique called "hull down". This is the practice of placing your tank just short of a rise so that your turret can see and shoot over the ridge, but most of your tank is hidden by the ridge.