Author Topic: New Improved NDSIsles  (Read 955 times)

Offline oboe

• Plutonium Member
Re: New Improved NDSIsles
« Reply #15 on: November 12, 2023, 10:04:32 AM »
The positioning of strats on a map must be one of the more difficult decisions a mapmaker deals with.   

As a part-time bomber pilot, I enjoy upping a flight of B-17s to hit strats, but only when they are spread out as targets, as on the ETOMA map.  With a map like NorthCo, where all the strats are clustered together as far away from enemy bases as possible and well-protected by multiple flak bases and a large permanent airfield, I wouldn't even consider a strat bombing mission.   For me, that type of strat placement negates one part of my game play, so on those maps, I revert to fighter-puke or attack pilot mode and simply concentrate on more tactical gameplay.  I assume designers have in mind to discourage bombing missions to strats with this design choice.  Maybe the dedicated heavy bomber groups still mount strat raids with maps like that, but for small bombing operations like mine its not worth the time.   Tough to please everyone, so its probably best to have a mix of map design philosophies overall.

BTW, last night NE of A45, there was a long train on the eastern side of the mountain.  There were no train tracks, just the train on the flank of the mountain.  It wasn't moving, but was firing on us flying over.  I went offline and tried to find it just now but I couldn't find it again.     

Offline mERv

• Silver Member
« Reply #16 on: November 12, 2023, 10:48:38 AM »

I am open to any workable suggestions for future maps. On the maps currently in the MA, defending strats is a joke, even with flak bases. IMO strats should be the hardest target to hit, and the best defended. In real life, WW2, great effort was expended to destroy strategic targets by the Allies, and defended by the Axis. Ultimately the destruction of the Axis strategic targets, is what ended the war.