Author Topic: Some newbie questions  (Read 505 times)

Offline Krusty

• Radioactive Member
Some newbie questions
« on: February 02, 2005, 11:46:43 AM »
Okay I've been flying AH since a little after it left beta. I've been following it since before it left beta. I'm not a newbie, but due to hardware limitations I never learned a few things. Now I'd like to know them.

HOW do you do that nifty barrel roll? I can do *A* roll. I can ROLL. But I'm guessing there's rudder input involved in the nice round roll that puts you almost behind the plane chasing you. Explain what input combination is used please?

I know a bit about torque. But nothing specific. I know that I have to adjust trim for different speeds, but I just hit combat trim on for a second then shut it off (saves me time, and I don't have a stick with lots of buttons to map trim to). Okay, so when I pull into a high zoom and hang on my nose I start rolling (naturally). So I heard I'm supposed to add rudder trim to stop that rolling. I'm going ot just try adding a bit of rudder on my stick, but which way am I supposed to do it... most of the times I try it I do the wrong way and I end up flopping around in a bad hammerhead because I didn't want to do that.

Why is it that you can fly in the same plane in the same sortie for quite a while with ease and then all of a sudden the same plane becomes 100% unstable about any axis and you can't even fly level? I was in a spitIX in a HTH room trying out the hizookas (damn those are single ping killers, it's absurd! -- I usually don't fly spits/RAF stuff), and I had about 12 kills over a long period of time. So anyways I have good speed, I'm engaging a F6F, I pull a loop, only I can't level out when the loop is done.. I am totally unstable, but at 200+ mph. I can't level. I'm flopping, but I did not pull too hard and there's no reason for this. I'm not stalling, not spinning, I'm just 100% unstable for no reason at all.