Author Topic: Why Shouldn't I Fly the Spit V  (Read 907 times)

Offline Honch

• Copper Member
      • http://www.wesayni.com
Why Shouldn't I Fly the Spit V
« on: March 20, 2002, 01:18:40 PM »
I've seen a lot of trash talking about spitfires here on this board and in the MA.  I'm not sure I understand it all.

I'm still relatively new to the game and I would kind of like to understand why there is so much animosity towards spits.

I like it alot, But why shoudln't I fly the Spit V?

Offline streakeagle

• Silver Member
      • Streak Eagle - Stephen's Website
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2002, 01:29:46 PM »
Nothing is wrong with flying the Spit V. People just don't want to get gangbanged by turn fighters with 20 mm Hispanos ;) Yet they don't want to take the time to fly in such a way as to avoid turn fighting.

Additionally, this game is much more fun if everyone flies a variety of aircraft. If every enemy encountered is a Spitfire, it gets boring real fast. Either you have to fly a comparable aircraft, be very patient using BnZ tactics, or be prepared to die a lot in furballs.

I happen to like flying P-51Ds and F-4U1s (the birdcages). It is very hard (not impossible because the enemy pilot may suck ;)) for me to win if I encounter a Spit above me with more speed. Some people would say the solution to this problem is to accuse those who fly the Spits of being dweebs flying uber planes that are spoiling the fun of anybody who flys planes that can't turn with them and to perk the Spits to prevent such dweebery. I think it is a matter of flying the P-51 as intended: higher and faster than the opposition. If I can't get the P-51 into a position of advantage and I get tired of being bounced by planes with more e or maneuverability, I hop up in an A6M5 and give the Spitfires (or whatever else it is that is killing me) a taste of their own medicine. Though I prefer flying the Spitfire to the A6M5 when dealing with hordes of Tempests in HtH combat.