Author Topic: Taking off / Key and Joystick config  (Read 427 times)

Offline Mix

• Zinc Member
Taking off / Key and Joystick config
« on: April 21, 2002, 05:54:29 PM »
Hi all,

The following are probably going to seem like total newbie questions :)  I've downloaded Aces High, and have been experimenting with it in offline mode to get a feel for it before determining whether I want to subscribe... I've had a lot of problems just taking off though...

The auto take-off seems to work fine for fighter airplanes, but fails miserably with bombers.  I dont think I'm getting full throttle either... I've calibrated the joystick, the calibration screen shows the full range of the throttle slider as it should, yet I can't get the bomber to get more than a few feet off the ground without stalling (flaps are set, auto-take off is set, etc).

Every now and then, I can actually climb a few more feet in the bombers, but I quickly stall anyway.  On top of that, I've tried to use the keyboard commands to set throttle, but the default keys for throttle control are unresponsive.  All other functions seem to work though - I've even tried remapping the throttle control without success.

Any ideas at all?  I'm using a Logitech Wingman Extreme, combined with a 1.4Ghz Athlon system...  This game seems good, but it's been an extremely frustrating experience so far.  I'd like to be able to at least play before making my decision :)

-- Mix

Offline SKurj

• Gold Member
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2002, 06:07:24 PM »
put flaps up in bombers when taking off, if u need to drop flaps to get off the run way drop a notch close to the end of the runway.
Online you RARELY ever need more than 50% fuel, with most runs requiring only 25%.

odds are if in AH calibration u are getting full throttle, you are in game.

SKurj

Offline Mix

• Zinc Member
But...
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2002, 06:31:43 PM »