Author Topic: Gun behavior  (Read 319 times)

Offline hogenbor

• Nickel Member
      • http://www.lookupinwonder.nl
Gun behavior
« on: September 23, 2002, 04:50:32 AM »
I'm playing this game for a while now, but I am still learning and refining my way of flying as well.

My problem at the moment is that I have problems with hitting anything with German cannon (MG151's). I'm used to 4 x 0.50's in the FM-2 and  I have no problem whatsoever in getting good hits with these even at insane deflection in a knife fight.

With Hispanos it's harder, but at least I manage to hit something every once and a while and with hispanos this is usually enough for a kill. Even with 0.303's I had kills, albeit at shorter distances.

But in a Fw 190A-5 or D-9 or a Macchi 205, I can't hit a thing!
Do the damn bulluts drop straight to the ground if you fire them? Or should I set convergence to 150m? Ballistics seem way different.

Offline Innominate

• Gold Member
Gun behavior
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2002, 05:07:55 AM »
The ballistics on the mg151 kinda suck.  Remember though, that gun convergance goes vertical as well as horizontal.  On the 190, I keep my convergance set at about 450.  With that setting the cannons are good between 300-500 and point blank.

There is no gun in the game that comes close to the balistics of the .50 M2 MG round the american planes use.  A high firing rate, lots of lead, and a flat trajectory make them the best for landing hits in difficult situations.  The .50 trajectory is almost perfectly flat out to the maximum range of 1.2k or so.

The hispano is closest to the .50 than it is to most cannons in terms of trajectory, though it lacks the firing rate of the .50, a couple of hits will guarentee a kill.

Offline hogenbor

• Nickel Member
      • http://www.lookupinwonder.nl
Gun behavior
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2002, 05:19:41 AM »