Author Topic: drex sux  (Read 2014 times)

Offline beet1e

• Persona Non Grata
  • Platinum Member
drex sux
« Reply #30 on: January 03, 2002, 07:15:00 AM »
I remember –eman-. I got on his wrong side once when I was a newbie, for firing over his shoulder (we were both flying purple). I got the kill, but he kept banging on at me. In the end I said ”oh, well f*** you then”, and he didn’t like that, and accused me of being a 14 year old cyber punk – LOL! (I was 43 at the time) I was winding him up – giving him 12-calls, that sort of thing. So he invited me for a duel. We went to the duelling arena. I knew he’d get me, but I just wanted to find out more about the guy. After he’d killed me twice, I asked him if he felt better now. He didn’t say, but in the conversation that followed he explained why it was a bad thing to fire over someone’s shoulder. We got talking about other things, and it turned out that although –eman- lives in New Hampshire, he was born not far from where I was born in England. Eman is from Nottingham (Robin Hood’s home) and I was born in Leicester, 26 miles away. And we ended up becoming mates, sort of  ;) I once described eman as being to Warbirds what John Macenroe was to tennis – a great player, and a good guy really – but a bit temperamental sometimes –  so focussed on winning.

I got to know eman’s wingman very well, and that’s a guy from Colorado with the game ID –gigg- He became a brotherly figure! He’s a few years older than me, and I met him at the North Carolina WB Con2000. One time he shot my 190A8 out from under me at a time when I was typing to him. I was annoyed about that, and gigg felt bad, so later on when I had switched to an F6F (my favourite mount in WB at that time) and was about to land about 6 kills, gigg was vulching my field. When I explained that he owed me one from the earlier incident, he very politely let me land  :D