Author Topic: P-51D Joyflight- Video and Photos  (Read 998 times)

Offline WldThing

• Gold Member
P-51D Joyflight- Video and Photos
« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2003, 07:59:58 PM »
Ahh i thought Uncle was fester since the website said "Festers Day"  

But anyways very cool Uncle! ;)

Offline Lazer1

• Zinc Member
« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2003, 10:52:03 PM »
haha.. Fester has a new name! :D  Cool ride, looks uber.

Offline Uncle

• Zinc Member
« Reply #17 on: January 09, 2003, 01:02:48 AM »
Uncle was my name in AW3 and I managed to get it here when it went thru the free trial period a few years ago. Fester's my handle in WW2OL and IL-2 hence the name in the website:)

Now for the bad news. It costs AU$1100/20 min, AU$2200/40 min and AU$3300/60 min. For you folks in the states the Aussie peso is worth roughly half what the greenback's worth.

I've got no experience with powered aircarft but have been flying gliders on and off for the last 20 years or so. After doing my first aileron roll unassisted I guess he trusted me at the controls.

Getting in the plane it was pretty tight because of the dual configuration but I can imagine it being fairly roomy as a single. Having sat in the cockpit of  a Spitfire Mk5 2 years ago this is a great improvement.

On start-up as you can hear in the video the Merlin has got a beatiful throaty roar to it which Mitsu has  captured quite well in his soundpacks. (I've sent them to Mitsu already) Next we do the taxing down the runway doing the zig-zag motion 'cause you can see SFA with that big nose in the way. HT's left and right views are a bit too much 'cause when you're strapped in tight you've got around 6" of head play either side.

I was really surprised during take-off as to how quick we got up in the air, it would've been less than 200 yards. As soon as we took off he fairly pointed the nose up and by this time we were doing 150 knots.