Author Topic: Dixie Chicks...  (Read 1122 times)

Offline Dnil

• Silver Member
Dixie Chicks...
« Reply #30 on: September 22, 2003, 05:55:13 PM »
go with what you like, thats what music is for, what moves you.  

Just because its more difficult doesnt make it better.

Hell that wwiiol fm used to be uber difficult.

Offline Cougar68

• Nickel Member
Dixie Chicks...
« Reply #31 on: September 22, 2003, 07:33:45 PM »
A song that only has 3 chords doesn't automatically make it a "simple" tune.  For example, go take a look at Jerry Reed's "The Claw."  It's technical, engaging and amazing to listen to.

And I think I have some kind of idea on what I'm talking about since I make my living as a guitar player in Nashville.

Cougar

Offline Nefarious

• Aces High CM Staff
  • Plutonium Member
Dixie Chicks...
« Reply #32 on: September 22, 2003, 10:45:54 PM »
Originally posted by Pfunk
1st and foremost RATM never was a Rap group, granted they infused rap into their music but they were never Rap artists, they were rock plain and simple.  

Beastie Boys should not be considered as rap artist either, they started out as a punk rock band and slowly infused rap as well as techno,funk,ska,reggae.  While both bands may have some rap elements neither are "rap"

While your first statement has some validity, I believe that Zach De LaRocha, brought a lyrical style to his music that resembled rap more than rock. The Guitar of Tom Morello, could be called a Stringed Turntable the way he jammed on it.

But, the Beastie Boys.

Every Album the beastie boys have released has been an experiment. But I would say the Beastie's have and always be a rap venue.

The Beastie Boys revolutionized Rap music and its genre in the 80's. And RATM did it in the 90's.
There must also be a flyable computer available for Nefarious to do FSO. So he doesn't keep talking about it for eight and a half hours on Friday night!

Offline Sixpence

• Platinum Member
      • http://www.onpoi.net/ah/index.php
Dixie Chicks...