Aces High Bulletin Board

General Forums => Hardware and Software => Topic started by: Darkdiz on January 17, 2012, 12:46:43 PM

Title: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 17, 2012, 12:46:43 PM
Hi:

I just "acquired" a brand new TM Cougar, and have been fooling round with its programming.  I'm ALMOST there  :pray. To fix a small problem, I resorted to looking online to get a pre-programmed joystick file for AH that would sort out my POV hat.  After MANY searches, I can't find a single download that has ANY joystick/macro files.  All the links seem to be dead.  I have seen several referred to on this board, but not sure how to get to the actual files.
The reason I ask, is that my POV hat doesn't QUITE do what I want it to.  I have the S3 button mapped as an I/O/ switch, as the alternate view (up).  But when I have, say for example the POV in the U position (pushed forward to get the fwd/up view), and then press the S3 button, the view returns to fwd, not directly up, as I thought it would.  Every time I press the S3 button with the POV hat (hat 1) not in its middle position, the view returns to the fwd view.  In the joystick file, I have nothing mapped to the S3 button (except various /I /O on other buttons).
I'm pretty sure there is a solution for this, and it is probably in one of those files I'm looking for.  Anyone have any suggestions?

Darkdiz
99the Blue Lagoon Sqn

PS I was a bit disappointed with the TM Cougar out of the box, because the throttle Z-pot was unserviceable.  I have, however, ordered a new one.  I REALLY hope a new pot fixes it.
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: james on January 17, 2012, 03:50:16 PM
Make sure that it is clear in all modes then go to views and map it to forward up in aces high. Hope that works.
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: band on January 17, 2012, 04:35:42 PM
Here's what I use. You would have to change the H3's to H1. I prefer using hat 3 for views as it is easier for me to reach. I have S4 for the down views and S3 for up.



rem ------------------  HAT 3 ---------------------------------------------------
Rem ---------------------------------
Rem           Logical Views
Rem ---------------------------------
DEF X4 (H3U AND NOT S3) rem OR (H3D AND NOT S4)
DEF X5 S4 AND (H3U OR H3UR OR H3R OR H3DR OR H3D OR H3DL OR H3L OR H3UL)

DEF X6 (S3 AND (H3U OR H3UR OR H3R OR H3DR OR H3D OR H3DL OR H3L OR H3UL)) OR (H3U AND (NOT (H3UL OR H3UR)))

BTN X4 /H KP8 REM PAN/SNAP:Fwd
BTN H3UR /H KP9 REM PAN/SNAP:Fwd_Rgt
BTN H3R /H KP6 REM PAN/SNAP:Rgt
BTN H3DR /H KP3 REM PAN/SNAP:Bwd_Rgt
BTN X5 /H KP0 REM PAN/SNAP:Down
BTN H3D /H KP2
BTN H3DL /H KP1 REM PAN/SNAP:Bwd_Lft
BTN H3L /H KP4 REM PAN/SNAP:Lft
BTN H3UL /H KP7 REM PAN/SNAP:Fwd_Lft
BTN X6 /H KP5 REM PAN/SNAP:Up
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: james on January 17, 2012, 04:50:46 PM
Never did the programming on the Cougar. i've always mapped everything through aces high. Easier that way.
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 18, 2012, 04:02:48 PM
Here's what I use. You would have to change the H3's to H1. I prefer using hat 3 for views as it is easier for me to reach. I have S4 for the down views and S3 for up.



rem ------------------  HAT 3 ---------------------------------------------------
Rem ---------------------------------
Rem           Logical Views
Rem ---------------------------------
DEF X4 (H3U AND NOT S3) rem OR (H3D AND NOT S4)
DEF X5 S4 AND (H3U OR H3UR OR H3R OR H3DR OR H3D OR H3DL OR H3L OR H3UL)

DEF X6 (S3 AND (H3U OR H3UR OR H3R OR H3DR OR H3D OR H3DL OR H3L OR H3UL)) OR (H3U AND (NOT (H3UL OR H3UR)))

BTN X4 /H KP8 REM PAN/SNAP:Fwd
BTN H3UR /H KP9 REM PAN/SNAP:Fwd_Rgt
BTN H3R /H KP6 REM PAN/SNAP:Rgt
BTN H3DR /H KP3 REM PAN/SNAP:Bwd_Rgt
BTN X5 /H KP0 REM PAN/SNAP:Down
BTN H3D /H KP2
BTN H3DL /H KP1 REM PAN/SNAP:Bwd_Lft
BTN H3L /H KP4 REM PAN/SNAP:Lft
BTN H3UL /H KP7 REM PAN/SNAP:Fwd_Lft
BTN X6 /H KP5 REM PAN/SNAP:Up


I'll give this a shot, let you know how it turns out for me.  Good idea to swap the H1 and H3 hats! Never thought of that!
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: band on January 18, 2012, 07:16:48 PM
Darkdiz if you would like my AH joystick and macro files pm me with your email address and I'll send them. If you don't want to mess with them just mapping the stick through AH like James should work as well. I just like being able to use the umd as a modifier and am not sure how to go about it in AH mapping.

Good luck.
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLOTSOM on January 18, 2012, 09:07:17 PM
i get energetic once in a while and do a bunch of mapping and changing and remapping again, but i always leave the hat views unmapped in the stick profile and just assign the keys in AH. this saves on time and head aches.

currently i am just using all of the AH mapping system......sometimes laziness gets the best of all of us  :D

i love that ability of the TM to use only the pieces and parts of the programing features and mix it with the built in programing of which ever game you are playing.

good luck!  :rock
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 19, 2012, 08:05:33 PM
Well, after much gnashing of teeth, I finally got the views to work EXACTLY as I want them.  Now all I have ot wait for is the replacement Z-pot, so I cn try this thing with the throttle (currently using the ANT rotary as the thr).
If there is any interest, I can put this together for distribution for anyone who wants it.

DD
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLOTSOM on January 19, 2012, 09:28:46 PM
well i am always happy to try a new set up. if you wouldnt mind id appreciate a copy of it!
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLS on January 20, 2012, 09:38:09 AM
I just like being able to use the umd as a modifier and am not sure how to go about it in AH mapping.

You can use the AH stick modes to set up UMD modifiers without programming the Thrustmaster software. For example if mode 1 is M you can use mode 3 and 4 for U and D.
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 21, 2012, 09:35:19 PM
Getting closer...

I tried to use the THR_RANGE command, but it seems to eliminate all inputs outside the physical detents on the throttle.  When I rem it out, the throttle works well, and sees its entire physical travel length (ie when the throttle is against the stops at one end, and 65535(?) at the other stop).  When I use the statement, any input outside of the detents (standard placement) has no effect, not even raw.  So if i try to program say WEP at the top end, the trottle doesn't see it, so it doesn't register.  Any suggestions?
The throttle statement is as follows:

##############
rem TQS

USE THR_RANGE (10%, 89%)

THR 5 1 (90 100) (/P KF_ENG_WEP /R KF_ENG_WEP)

##############

The macro KF_ENG_WEP = p

Darkdiz
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: band on January 22, 2012, 12:03:31 AM
This works on mine.

USE THR_RANGE (0%, 95%)
THR 5 1 (97 100) (/P WEP  /R WEP )

This gives my throttle full range from full back to the forward detent with wep engaged at full forward past the detent.
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLOTSOM on January 22, 2012, 09:02:04 AM
This works on mine.

USE THR_RANGE (0%, 95%)
THR 5 1 (97 100) (/P WEP  /R WEP )

This gives my throttle full range from full back to the forward detent with wep engaged at full forward past the detent.


if i remember correctly this was about the same way i had mine set up.

i tried multiple different ways.

i wish i still had my old profile cause my throttle was finally set up so that as i pulled back on it and got near the bottom it would drop flaps in stages and then at the very bottom cut the engine and drop gear. (doing the opposite going forward). the fact that AH has auto up/no deploy on flaps dependent upon speed kept me from causing any damage at high speed throttle work (just had to remeber not to bottom it out or i would damage landing gear). it took me months to finally get it tweaked correctly.....then i lost my HD and had to redo everything!!!
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 22, 2012, 01:05:51 PM
Still working on it.  I had to re-install all of the drivers as the system dumped everything  :cry Oh well.  I finally sort of got it working with the following, after many different tweaks in the CCP for axis etc.

USE REVERSE (THR) rem orients throttle correctly
USE THR_RANGE (2%, 98%) rem defines the range through which the throttle gives normal linear response
THR /U 5 3 (0 1 99 100) (/P p /R p) ^ (/P e /R e) rem throttle band definition, engine toggle and WEP toggle
       /M 5 1 (0 1) (/P p /R p) rem throttle band definition, WEP toggle
       /D 5 1 (0 1) (/P p /R p) rem throttle band definition, WEP toggle

It works fine to toggle the engine and engage WEP, but I lose all throttle response (except for the characters generated at min and max) outside of the detents.  Ie, the throttle output from the HOTAS to the game is not present until I physically get the throttle handle to about 50% of its travel, and then VERY quickly goes to full at about 75% of travel, and then nothing until I get it to full travel, where WEP engages (correctly).  As soon as I remove the USE THR_RANGE command, the response becomes uniform over the entire range of throttle movement.  I looked at the analogue response in the Options-Control-Map Controllers window in AH, the raw input also does not move until I get to about 50% travel (stuck at 65535) then quickly goes to 0 at about 75% travel, and then nothing for the remaining 25% of travel.  So I end up with the entire throttle range compressed into about half to three-quarters of physial throttle travel.
I therefore think it is a HOTAS configuration problem somewhere, as AH is seeing exactly what the stick is sending, and responding accordingly.  The problem is, I can't for the life of me figure out WHAT the issue is.  It's almost like the THR_RANGE command cuts off the analogue response at both ends (which it is supposed to do) but by a whole lot more than it is supposed to, and certainly not by an amount I want it to!  From the command above, I think I am at the max for defining the full range of the throttle, but for some reason, both ends are cut off.  I REALLY hope this is not a hardware problem (I doubt it, as the response is fine without the THR_RANGE command!).

Still plugging away, using the trial and (mostly) error method  :bhead

Update: Finally out of frustration, rem'd out the USE THR_RANGE command, and you would never guess... Got the entire range WITH e and WEP at both ends.  WOO HOO!
Going to do up a readme file, and then package up sometime this week  :x 

Darkdiz
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLOTSOM on January 22, 2012, 02:27:57 PM
here is a really dumb question, but i believe this was a similar problem i was experiencing...

are you configuring your stick in AH? if you are you have to move the throttle ONLY BETWEEN THE DENTENT POINTS!!!!!! your bottom detent becomes 0% and your top detent becomes 100% in the eyes of the game.

do not go full back full forward, otherwise AH is going to alter the input to match the full range instead of the reduced ranges you are trying to make everything work in. the conflicting signal inputs gives you a reduced or exaggerated result.

also make sure that you are getting the full range of throttle movement between the detents in the TM CCS. a failure to have the range reading properly here will create similar defects in the programing.
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 23, 2012, 08:22:12 PM
No, I have everything that needs to be done in the joystick file, and minimal stuff in through AH.  The JS analyzer, when used with the USE THR_RANGE command only recognized limited physical travel, but the setup seems to work without that particular command.

Anyway, after removing the USE THR_RANGE command, I finally got the stick working throughout its entire range, with WEP coming on at the top end, and in specific situations (DF switch in the D position) the engine would toggle as expected. I put some final touches on some button maps, and I also did up a 12-page readme file (my son said I have NO life, sadly, I had to agree).  I think think the original problem came down to a calibration and throttle reversal issue, but I fooled around with it and it finally worled as advertized.  I had to program it as if the throttle was backwards, with WEP coming on at 0% and the engine toggling at 100%.  I'm sure there can be some more efficiency in the programming of this, but for now, it ain't broke, so....

I can distribute the (more-or-less) final product if anyone wants it, I'm pretty happy with it so far.

Darkdiz
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLOTSOM on January 23, 2012, 08:29:24 PM
send it!  :banana: :airplane: :joystick: :airplane: :banana: :headscratch:

thanks for your efforts!  :aok
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 23, 2012, 08:44:15 PM
Just sent it, it's about 7 megs though
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLOTSOM on January 23, 2012, 08:52:36 PM
cool, thank you again for your efforts!
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: Darkdiz on January 23, 2012, 10:00:10 PM
I just re-adjusted the dead bands in the CCP, to about 20% upper and lower on the throttle axis.  It makes the jump to WEP more definite, and cuts down on the accidental wep engagements.

Hope you like the file ;)

DD
Title: Re: Thrustmaster Cougar
Post by: FLOTSOM on January 23, 2012, 10:02:38 PM
i will give it a run through and let you know how it works out for me, thanks!