Author Topic: Put things in perspective:  (Read 961 times)

LJK Raubvogel

Put things in perspective:
« on: March 09, 2001, 10:18:00 PM »
All you Euro anti-US types need not sour this post please.

Subject: In Perspective

Not sure of the source of this letter, but they make a very valid point

Not to take anything away or to try and tarnish his memory but this is something to think about.  19 February 2001
On 18 February 2001, while racing for fame and fortune, Dale Earnhardt
died in the last lap of the Daytona 500.  It was surely a tragedy for his family, friends and fans.  He was 49 years old with grown children, one, which
was in the race.  I am new to the NASCAR culture so much of what I know has come  from the newspaper and TV.  He was a winner and earned everything he had. This included more than "$41 million in winnings and ten times that from endorsements and  souvenir sales".  He had a beautiful home and a private jet.  He drove the most sophisticated cars allowed and every part was inspected and replaced as soon as there was any evidence of wear.  This
is normally fully funded by the car and team sponsors.  Today, there is no
TV station that does not constantly remind us of his tragic end and the
radio already has a song of tribute to this winning driver.  Nothing should be taken away from this man, he was a professional and the best in his profession.  He was in a very dangerous business but the rewards were
great. Two weeks ago six U.S. Army soldiers died in a training accident when two UH-60 Blackhawk helicopters collided during night maneuvers in Hawaii.The soldiers were all in their twenties, pilots, crew chiefs and infantrymen. Most of them lived in sub-standard housing.  If you add their actual duty hours (in the field, deployed) they probably earn something close to