Author Topic: Dell Laptop Opinions  (Read 351 times)

Offline SOB

• Plutonium Member
Dell Laptop Opinions
« on: June 16, 2006, 09:10:25 PM »
Ordering a new laptop for my mom & stepdad tomorrow, and plan on getting this:

http://configure.us.dell.com/dellstore/config.aspx?c=us&cs=19&l=en&oc=iB130S1&s=dhs

Will get it upgraded to 512MB of memory.  This will be an upgrade from a PII333 Celeron running a six-year-old installation of Windows 98SE, and he's only gonna use it for Quicken, Word/Excel, BASIC photo editing, and the Intardnet, so it'll be plenty fast enough for him (mom might use it, but probably not much) - especially considering he's also finally upgrading from dial-up to DSL or Cable.

Does anybody have an edumacated/experienced opinion on this particular model?

I've had a lot of experience with the C-Series Latitudes, and have a favorable opinion of them for the most part.  Never touched any of the newer ones though.

Thanks in advance for your helpful and smart-assed comments.  ;)
Three Times One Minus One.  Dayum!

Offline Hangtime

• Plutonium Member
Dell Laptop Opinions
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2006, 09:22:26 PM »
Get a couple of soup cans and a string.

you can always upgrade to stringless (and strapless) later on.

(don't like dells. too fragile for me. I have IBM laptops. I'm a klutz. I need them)
The price of Freedom is the willingness to do sudden battle, anywhere, any time and with utter recklessness...

...at home, or abroad.

Offline Meatwad

• Plutonium Member
Dell Laptop Opinions
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2006, 09:47:29 PM »
Dell notebook = junk.

They are notorious for hard drive failures.
See Rule 19- Do not place sausage on pizza.
I am No-Sausage-On-Pizza-Wad.
Das Funkillah - I kill hangers, therefore I am a funkiller. Coming to a vulchfest near you.
You cant tie a loop around 400000 lbs of locomotive using a 2 foot rope - Drediock on fat women

Offline Nilsen

• Plutonium Member
Dell Laptop Opinions