Author Topic: Engine oil  (Read 1412 times)

Offline Dragon

• Platinum Member
      • AH JUGS
Re: Engine oil
« Reply #30 on: November 11, 2008, 03:31:08 PM »
I feel the need to gouge my eyes out after trying to read two pages of this crap.

Jesus H. Christ, your education system is desperately in need of a large overhaul.

Too true.

I like you.  If you knew how many times public school board officials here spend their time to vote on increasing their salaries and bonuses instead of on issues that would help the kids, you might want to publicaly lynch them like me.

I think you have what we would call "an idea from a Hollywood movie" or two.  I'm not a pro, but I have seen engines seize up in my life (*spits & curses*).  There is minimal to zero "grace" time after the engine oil pressure cuts out (0) and the engine seizes. 

One, and probabley the best example I can think of for you to understand, was an inline-4-banger on my brother's '88 Honda accord (dinky weaksauce engine compared to a V12 AC monster-of-a-beast-of-an-engine).  He had just entered a long uphill tunnel and noticed his oil guage was just bottoming out as we went in to it, and overheating was already occuring (between normal and max).  Tunnels don't have shoulders, and especialy at night (which it was) are not ideal to pull your car over in, so he decided to try and make it for the end and the nearest open shoulder, I agreed with him.  By the time we got to the end of the tunnel (less than a 1/4 of a mile and not very long to get to at ~45 mph) engine temperature was beyond the temperature guage max limit and we were about 200ft from the nearest open shoulder, right as we made pulled off the pavement, *clank* engine seized up.  Was the end to a good car with a ton of miles on that engine. 

I'll leave to you the comparison of how much abuse an old inline-4 made by honda in 1988 for a car can take compared to a V12 made by Rolls-Royce in 1940 for a high-performance fighter aircraft.