Author Topic: Disturbing allegations regarding IOBits software  (Read 898 times)

Offline Ghastly

• Silver Member
Disturbing allegations regarding IOBits software
« on: September 17, 2010, 07:14:29 AM »
Recently, my mother described to me a "scareware" tactic that we see all too often - a piece of software that tells the user that they have a lot of infections and prompting the user to buy the full version to get rid of them.  I was confused, because she described what sounded like the IOBit software, which she said she'd just clicked on an upgrade to. I've been recommending IOBits for several years as an option for the occasional general tuneup, and of course, for the gamebooster tool, and I'd never had it do what she described.   My Mom isn't the most computer literate person and could VERY easily have accidentally done almost anything, but still, it sure sounded like IOBit was what she was seeing.

Sure enough I upgraded IOBit System Care on another machine later, and the newest version goes what I consider to be well over the "scareware" line. To be honest, if I hadn't had years of good experience I would have blacklisted it immediately - and even with years of good success with it, it was enough to make me uncomfortable.  Companies change hands, and companies change tactics with new leadership, so I did a search for IOBits as malware, and was dismayed to have this come up.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-27080_3-10389650-245.html

and more detail from MalwareBytes.

http://forums.malwarebytes.org/index.php?showtopic=29681

Take it for what it's worth, but I for one am feeling very very uncomfortable with any IOBit software on my system right now.  I just can't see where Malwarebytes - who has an impeccable reputation - would have any reason to start a legal war unless very convinced of what they were seeing.

<S>