Author Topic: I'm new to imaging drives, might need to  (Read 395 times)

Offline Krusty

• Radioactive Member
I'm new to imaging drives, might need to
« on: November 01, 2011, 09:36:16 AM »
2-part post: I'm looking for feedback/comments on the hardware issue, and/or comments about what programs to use for imaging a drive.

My SSD (Revo x2 100GB, PCIe) had a bit of an issue a couple of days ago. I walked away from the PC for 15-20 minutes and came back to a failed BIOS boot screen. As if the PC had rebooted itself. Only it couldn't boot.

The SSD I have is really a RAID of 4 onboard SSDs in RAID0. One of the 4 drives wasn't showing up and the logical drive was not recognized. I rebooted a number of times, went into the RAID setup screen, nothing recognized it. Normally it flasses these 4x drives with 23GB each, but this time it would only show 3 drives of 23GB each.

So I power-cycled it, and it worked fine. It hasn't done it again yet, but it's only been a couple of days.

I sent in a ticket to OCZ to ask if this was an issue, maybe the first sign of failure, but all they did was give me an RAM ticket to ship it in for a replacement. I was hoping for more of a discussion.

2 things:

1) I'm not so sure I want to replace it - it's a lot of time and hassle and I'm out a PC in the meantime
2) I don't know if this is really a drive issue

Then yesterday I pulled the power plug out of the back of my PC to use on another rig I was reformatting. I let it sit a day while doing this, and when I plugged it back in it wouldn't boot. Looked like it didn't remember ANY of my settings. Not even the drive boot order (set the SSD back to primary and it booted fine). I had to reset my memory settings and a few other BIOS settings.

I'm left with the question of: What if it's not the drive? Is it possible the motherboard, maybe? What else might do that?