Author Topic: Zacherof Departure  (Read 2466 times)

Offline Patches1

• Nickel Member
Re: Zacherof Departure
« Reply #60 on: September 23, 2013, 03:34:27 AM »
What is interesting to me, Arlo, is how clear the memory is...it was a Black Flag day for recruits...but not for us...the sky was almost cobalt in color...winds were very high...the smell of JP5 was in the nostrils as we rounded the south end of the airfield...

LOL

Another thought comes to mind...Terns were, and maybe still are, a protected species of bird and they used to nest near the fences of NTC and MCRD and at the south end of the San Diego Airport. We had to adhere to a path near the airport so as not to disturb Tern nesting. We gulped copious amounts of JP5 exhaust to not disturb the Terns during our runs.

"We're surrounded. That simplifies the problem."- Lewis B. "Chesty" Puller, General, USMC

Offline Megalodon

• Persona Non Grata
  • Gold Member
« Reply #61 on: September 23, 2013, 12:37:56 PM »
I was an instructor at Sea School (USMC) at MCRD San Diego back in 1973.

In 1972/74 my mother and I used to go to the commissary at MCRD, soon as we went threw the gate and down the road every one saluted the sticker on our car. The sticker showed my Pops rank or that it was an officer's car I think. The place was pretty old. We lived in Point Loma at the time.

I had completely forgotten all about this,
Thank You
 :salute
Okay..Add 2 Country's at once, Australia and France next plane update Add ...CAC Boomerang and the Dewoitine D.520

Offline Arlo

• Radioactive Member
« Reply #62 on: September 23, 2013, 02:00:38 PM »
What is interesting to me, Arlo, is how clear the memory is...it was a Black Flag day for recruits...but not for us...the sky was almost cobalt in color...winds were very high...the smell of JP5 was in the nostrils as we rounded the south end of the airfield...

LOL