Author Topic: Security  (Read 596 times)

Offline Dragon Tamer

• Persona Non Grata
  • Gold Member
Security
« on: May 16, 2014, 11:32:29 AM »
I should have made this thread sooner but I'm having some issues with my PC now. It's still running XP and I don't want to upgrade (because I don't have the money). Microsoft Security Essentials is not supported anymore and I'm not an expert on software at all. Are there any good security programs that are still supported on XP that can help keep my system going?

Offline Bizman

• Plutonium Member
Re: Security
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2014, 12:44:02 PM »
I've been quite happy with Avast Free, although it has been mentioned to cause issues - which I either haven't noticed, or have been able to take care of.

About the issues: I've witnessed Avast can quarantine a perfectly legit program as a virus. False positive, that is. Simply revert them from the Quarantine and put them on Avast's bypass list. You may also put them on the ignore list before you run into a program that won't start due to a missing .exe file. Just take care you are bypassing only fully trustworthy programs like AH!

Another thing is to make a custom install of it. The most important features are in the left hand pane and you can even safely uncheck the email scanner if you use webmail instead of an email program. The long list in the middle can be unchecked, as you may notice most of them aren't exactly virus killers. That would leave it about as lightweight as MSE but IMO a little more powerful.
Quote from: BaldEagl, applies to myself, too
I've got an older system by today's standards that still runs the game well by my standards.

Kotisivuni

Offline Denniss

• Nickel Member
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2014, 12:55:06 PM »
M$ announced they would offer Virus signature updates for MSSE one more year until April 2015.

Offline Bizman

• Plutonium Member
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2014, 01:15:32 PM »